The Republic of Ghana deposited its ‘Instrument of Ratification’ to the Arusha Protocol for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants on 24 November 2023. Ghana was the fourth ARIPO member state to do so, the others being Rwanda (June 2019), São Tomé e Príncipe (September 2020), and Cape Verde (July 2022).

Ghana’s deposit is very relevant because the Arusha Protocol is set to come into force within a period of 12 months from the fourth deposit of an ARIPO member state. It follows therefore that the Arusha Protocol should be in effect by no later than 24 November 2024. However, presently, only Plant Breeders’ Rights in Ghana and Rwanda may be protected via the Arusha Protocol as São Tomé e Príncipe and Cape Verde have no PBR legislation.

As more ARIPO member states accede to the Arusha Protocol, it will become a cost effective option to protect new varieties of plants in the ARIPO member states which have PBR legislation.

Contact us for further information.