文章作者 迪娜·比亚乔

知识产权(IP)是独立思考的产物;人类创造力和创新的结果。反过来,知识产权 (IPR) 是阻止他人使用该知识产权的权利,它具有明确且通常相当可观的商业价值。这不太可能让您感到惊讶。但是您知道如何最好地发挥您的 IP 组合的全部潜力吗?

让我们看一下从您的知识产权中获益的四种不同策略,使用 安·兰德斯 (Ann Landers) 2001 年对两只奶牛的模仿风格类比.

垄断战略(执法)

假设您有一头奶牛。你不希望别人养奶牛和卖牛奶与你竞争。在以下情况下,可以使用垄断策略来强制执行您的知识产权以确保垄断:

  • 市场大,可以满足市场需求。
  • 有可能会因侵权而被警方查处。
  • 您的发明很容易被竞争对手复制。
  • 侵权造成的损失远远超过执法成本

要想成功地采用这种策略,最好拥有强大的注册权利组合(这需要积极的专利申请)。除了确保市场份额外,执法策略还可以让您收回专利侵权的损失,这可能很重要!

根据普华永道的 2018 年专利诉讼研究,从 2009 年到 2017 年,美国十大损害赔偿金(专利权人可以收回专利侵权的惩罚性赔偿金)平均超过 10 亿美元。

货币化策略(许可)

假设您拥有原来的奶牛和一头额外的奶牛。你把第二头奶牛租给别人,这样他们也可以卖牛奶。在这里,您希望通过许可创造额外的收入流,而不会将市场份额拱手让给您的竞争对手。这种货币化策略可能适用于:

  • 市场很大或地理位置偏远。
  • 你不能满足市场需求。
  • 您的生产基础设施有限。
  • 执行成本使垄断战略失去吸引力

要成功实施货币化策略,您必须拥有可授权的利益。尽管内容和软件许可(依赖于版权)很常见,但在涉及高科技发明时,专利权会更可取。如果您是一家采用货币化策略的科技企业,您需要投资开发更多技术和获取知识产权,以保持领先地位。

协作策略(交叉许可/共同开发)

假设您有一头奶牛,而您的邻居有一头公牛。大家可以一起汇集资源,生产更多的奶牛!有时,将 IP 用作与他人协作的杠杆是有意义的。在以下情况下,协作策略可能是合适的:

  • 市场很大,有几个参与者。
  • 技术发展的本质是渐进式(非革命性)改进。
  • 交叉许可和IP池/聚合在技术领域并不少见,因此不难找到合作机会。

要通过协作策略取得成功,您需要一个杠杆或可交易的东西——也就是说,您必须做出一些贡献,使您作为协作者对他人具有吸引力。

作为 沙恩罗宾逊,惠普执行副总裁兼首席战略与技术官说:“增加专利组合可以提高我们与他人交易知识产权的能力。我们专注的创新战略——投资于我们可以领先的技术并为其他人合作——正在取得成效。”

保密策略(保密。无专利)

假设您已经让奶牛进行饮食,使它们产生更多的牛奶。您可以将这种饮食保密,以免其他人从中受益。在这里,您正在使用商业秘密来为自己提供竞争优势。这种保密策略可能适用于:

  • 其他人不太可能容易地独立开发相同的技术。
  • 专利侵权将难以监管,例如在商品产品的制造过程中。
  • 申请专利的预算很少或没有。

对于在公开市场上销售的产品,这种策略只有在您拥有“黑匣子”发明时才有效(即,一旦产品进入市场,产品背后的发明就无法通过逆向工程发现)。这种策略的风险在于技术会泄漏到公共领域,或者竞争对手独立地得出相同的解决方案。

现实是这样的:成功的创新总会吸引模仿者。如果您投资于技术开发,您应该考虑一种使您能够获得回报的 IP 策略。领先的企业不仅拥有知识产权,而且知道如何使用它。

本文首次发表于 Polity.org.za

Article by Dina Biagio

Intellectual property (IP) is the product of independent thought; the outcome of human creativity and innovation. An intellectual property right (IPR), in turn, is the right to prevent others from using that IP and it has a definite and often considerable commercial value. This is unlikely to surprise you. But do you know how best to realise the full potential of your IP portfolio?

Let’s look at four different strategies for deriving benefit from your IPR, using Ann Landers’ 2001 parody-style analogy of the two cows.

MONOPOLISING STRATEGY (Enforcement)

Let’s say you have a dairy cow. You don’t want others to have dairy cows and sell milk in competition with you. A monopolising strategy may be used to enforce your IP rights to secure a monopoly, in situations where:

  • The market is big and you can meet market demand.
  • It is possible to police for infringement.
  • Your invention can be easily copied by your competition.
  • Damage suffered through infringement far outweighs enforcement costs

To be successful with this strategy, it would be best to have a strong portfolio of registered rights (which requires aggressive patenting). In addition to securing market share, an enforcement strategy may also allow you to recoup damages for patent infringement, which can be significant!

From 2009 to 2017, the ten largest damages awards in the United States (where patentees can recoup punitive damages for patent infringement), averaged over a billion dollars, according to PWC’s 2018 Patent Litigation Study.

MONETISING STRATEGY (Licensing)

Let’s say you have your original dairy cow plus an extra dairy cow. You rent the second dairy cow to someone else, so they can also sell milk. Here you want to create an additional income stream through licensing, without relinquishing market share to your competition. This monetising strategy may be appropriate where:

  • The market is big or geographically remote.
  • You cannot meet market demand.
  • You have limited production infrastructure.
  • Enforcement costs make a monopolising strategy unattractive

To be successful with a monetising strategy, you must have a licensable interest. Although content and software licensing (which relies on copyright) is common, when it comes to high tech inventions, patent rights would be preferable. If you are a tech business adopting a monetising strategy, you need to invest in developing more technology and acquiring IP, to remain at the cutting edge.

COLLABORATIVE STRATEGY (Cross-Licensing/Co-Development)

Let’s say you have a dairy cow and your neighbour has a bull. Together, you can pool your resources to make more dairy cows! Sometimes it makes sense to use IP as a lever to collaborate with others. A collaborative strategy may be appropriate where:

  • The market is big with several players.
  • Technology development is in the nature of incremental (not revolutionary) improvement.
  • Cross-licensing and IP pooling/aggregating are not unconventional in the technology field, so collaboration opportunities are not hard to find.

To be successful with a collaborative strategy, you need a lever or something to trade – that is, you must have something to contribute that makes you attractive to others as a collaborator.

As Shane Robinson, HP’s Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy & Technology Officer, puts it, “Increasing a patent portfolio increases our ability to trade intellectual property with others. Our focused innovation strategy – investing in technologies where we can lead and partnering for the rest – is paying off.”

SECRECY STRATEGY (Retaining Secrecy. No Patenting)

Let’s say you have put your dairy cows on a diet that makes them produce more milk. You could keep this diet a secret so others can’t benefit from it. Here you are using a trade secret to give yourself a competitive edge. This secrecy strategy may be appropriate where:

  • It is unlikely that the same technology would be easily and independently developed by others.
  • Patent infringement would be difficult to police, e.g. in the case of manufacturing processes for commodity products.
  • There is little or no budget for patenting.

When it comes to products sold on the open market, this strategy could only work if you have a ‘black box’ invention (that is, the invention underlying your product is not evident by reverse-engineering, once the product enters the market). The risk with this strategy is that the technology leaks into the public domain or a competitor independently arrives at the same solution.

The reality is this: Successful innovation will always attract imitators. If you invest in technical development, you should consider an IP strategy that enables you to reap the rewards. Leading businesses don’t only have IP, but also know how to use it.

This article was first published on Polity.org.za