肯尼亚:ACA 备案是绝对要求吗?

介绍
肯尼亚有专门的反假冒立法,即 2008 年第 13 号反假冒法,以及专门的反假冒机构,反假冒机构 (ACA)。一段时间以来,对于在肯尼亚销售商品的知识产权所有者是否需要在 ACA 单独注册其商标,一直存在混淆。

海关备案
多年来,我们都知道肯尼亚将拥有被称为“双重注册' 系统。这意味着将商品进口到肯尼亚的知识产权所有者将被要求在 ACA 单独注册其知识产权——值得注意的是,尽管肯尼亚当局使用知识产权 (IPR) 一词,但似乎很可能商标受影响最大。未注册将构成犯罪。

ACA Recordal 注册流程现在在这里。而且相当繁重——需要相当多的细节,包括权利人、商品制造国以及外国用户和分销商的身份。需要提供商品样品或数码照片,以及肯尼亚知识产权注册证书的核证副本。

一切就绪后,ACA 检查员将拥有与海关官员相同的权力来处理进口假冒商品。似乎的想法是,ACA 备案过程将导致更多的假冒商品在入境口岸被查获。

最新进展
在最近的一份通知中,标题为 知识产权备案开始,2022 年 4 月 26 日*,ACA 宣布:

  • 自2022年7月1日起实施知识产权备案。
  • 从该日期起,进口带有知识产权但尚未记录的商品将构成犯罪——此类商品将被扣押并起诉进口商。

这到底是什么意思?
这肯定不像人们想的那么清楚。一位肯尼亚评论员将这些事态发展解释如下:

  • 知识产权所有者必须记录与进口到肯尼亚的商品相关的知识产权。
  • 任何其他进口货物的人应将货物的详细信息通知 ACA。
  • 申请获得批准后,ACA 将以防伪安全装置的形式颁发认证标志。
  • ACA 可以销毁任何不带有该设备的货物。
  • 备案期限为自备案批准之日起一年或知识产权注册的剩余期限,以较短者为准——续展申请必须在到期前至少 30 天提交。
  • 原材料/半成品无需备案。
  • 服务标志无需备案。

注释
2022 年 4 月 26 日的通知显然非常重要。在肯尼亚销售商品的知识产权所有者现在需要每年向 ACA 登记他们的权利。我们能够协助我们的客户在 ACA 登记他们的权利。

确实出现的一个问题是,ACA 是否会利用这项立法来扣押进入肯尼亚的真品。我们与肯尼亚官员的讨论表明情况并非如此,整个目的是防止假冒商品进入该国。然而,通知中没有任何内容表明这一点。

我们对 IP 所有者的建议很简单——在 ACA 注册您的权利。请联系您常用的 Spoor & Fisher 联系人。

*公告第 1/2022 号打假局。

联系我们 了解更多信息。

Kenya: Is ACA recordal an absolute requirement?

Intro
Kenya has specific anti-counterfeiting legislation, the Anti-Counterfeiting Act No. 13 of 2008, as well as a dedicated anti-counterfeiting body, the Anti-Counterfeiting Authority (ACA). There has for some time been confusion as to whether IP owners who sell goods in Kenya are required to register their trade marks separately with the ACA.

Customs recordal
For a number of years we have known that Kenya will have what has been dubbed a ‘dual registration’ system. What this means is that an IP owner who imports goods into Kenya will be required to register its IP rights separately with the ACA – it is worth noting that, although the Kenyan authorities use the term intellectual property rights (IPRs), it seems likely that trade marks will be most affected. Failure to register will be an offence.

The ACA Recordal registration process is now here. And it is quite onerous – considerable detail is required regarding the rights owner, the country where the goods are manufactured, and the identities of foreign users and distributors. Samples or digital photos of goods will be required, as well as a certified copy of a Kenyan IP registration certificate.

When everything is up and running ACA inspectors will have the same powers as customs officers in respect of imported counterfeit goods. The thinking seemingly is that the ACA recordal process will result in more counterfeit goods being seized at ports of entry.

The latest development
In a recent notification headed Commencement of Recordation of Intellectual Property Rights, 26 April 2022*, the ACA announced that:

  • The commencement of the implementation of recordation of IP rights will take effect on 1 July 2022.
  • As of that date it will be an offence to import goods bearing IP that has not been recorded – such goods will be seized and importers prosecuted.

What exactly does this mean?
It is certainly not as clear as one would like. One Kenyan commentator has interpreted these developments as follows:

  • It is mandatory for IP owners to record the IP rights that relate to goods that are imported into Kenya.
  • Any other person importing goods should notify the ACA of the particulars of the goods.
  • On approval of an application the ACA will issue a certification mark in the form of an anti-counterfeit security device.
  • The ACA can destroy any goods that do not bear the device.
  • Recordal lasts for a period of one year from the date of approval of recordation or the remaining period of the IP registration, whichever is the shorter – a renewal application must be filed at least 30 days before expiry.
  • No recordal is necessary for raw materials/unfinished goods.
  • No recordal is required for service marks.

Comments
The notification of 26 April 2022 is clearly very significant. IP owners who sell goods in Kenya will now need to register their rights with the ACA on an annual basis. We are in a position to assist our clients with the registration of their rights with the ACA.

A question that does arise is whether the ACA will use this legislation to seize genuine goods entering Kenya. Discussions that we have had with Kenyan officials suggest that this is not the case, and that the whole intention is to prevent counterfeit goods entering the country. Yet there is nothing in the notification that makes this clear.

Our advice to IP owners is simple – register your rights with the ACA. Please get in touch with your usual Spoor & Fisher contact.

*Public Notice No. 1/2022 Anti-Counterfeit Authority.

Contact us for further information.