对 OAPI 注册系统的拟议变更

2019 年,我们宣布了对商标、地理标志、专利、实用新型和工业品外观设计的 OAPI 注册系统的拟议变更。* 在那个阶段,没有迹象表明这些变更何时会生效。

现已宣布,影响商标、地理标志、实用新型和工业品外观设计的 OAPI 注册变更将于 2022 年 1 月 1 日生效(未提及专利)。以下是一些最重要的措施:

商标

商标的定义:声音现在可以注册为商标,视听标志也可以。

认证标志: 现在可以注册了。

商品和服务组合: 商品和服务现在可以包含在同一个商标申请中。 2022 年 3 月 1 日,当局宣布在没有进一步说明的情况下将不再接受某些类别标题。它们是: 7 类机械;第 37 类维修、安装服务;第 40 类材料处理;第 45 类 第三方为满足个人需求而提供的个人和社会服务。当局进一步宣布,某些条款将来需要进一步澄清。这些包括商品、家居用品、促销品、健康产品、零售服务和批发服务。

分区应用: 在注册前的任何阶段,都可以根据商品或服务来划分商标申请。

考试: 将进行基于绝对理由的实质审查。 2022 年 3 月 1 日,当局宣布逐步引入实质审查“工具”。

出版物: 申请将在提交后公布。

反对: 异议期为公布之日起三个月。

所有权声明:

商标的在先使用者如果认为商标申请人知道或应该知道其在先权利,将有权在申请公布之日起三个月内提出“所有权主张”异议。如果决定对索赔人有利,OAPI 会将商标申请转让给索赔人。

一世国际注册:

由于未能将马德里议定书纳入班吉协定,因此长期以来一直怀疑指定 OAPI 的国际注册的有效性。现在在班吉协议中具体提到了国际注册——这是否能解决有效性问题还有待观察,因为有强烈的意见认为国际注册在 OAPI 中有效,直到所有成员各国批准 OAPI 加入马德里议定书。

取消通用商标:

由于注册所有人的行为,已成为通用商标的商标可以取消注册。
侵权时效:侵权民事诉讼时效为自侵权之日起五年。

海关观察: 海关当局可以根据商标注册所有人或唯一受益人的书面要求扣留涉嫌假冒商品。商标所有人将有 10 天的时间(如果是易腐烂的商品,则为 3 天)从收到商品扣留通知到发起民事或刑事诉讼。

了解更多关于 OAPI – 专利.

地理标志 (GI)

延期: 保护将扩大到农业、天然和手工产品.

工业品外观设计

发表/反对: 出于异议目的,将公布申请。异议期为三个月。

*OAPI 是适用于下列国家/地区的单一 IP 注册系统。该系统受《班吉协定》管辖:
贝宁、布基纳法索、喀麦隆、中非共和国、乍得、刚果共和国、赤道几内亚、加蓬、几内亚、几内亚比绍、科特迪瓦、马里、毛里塔尼亚、尼日尔、塞内加尔、多哥和科摩罗联盟。

联系我们 寻求有关您的商标的专业帮助。

In 2019 we announced proposed changes to the OAPI registration system insofar as it relates to trade marks, GIs, patents, utility models and industrial designs.* At that stage there was no indication when the changes would come into effect.

It has now been announced that the changes affecting trade marks, GIs, utility models and industrial designs will come into effect on 1 January 2022 (there is no mention of patents). Here are some of the most important measures:

Trade marks
Definition of a trade mark: A sound can now be registered as a trade mark, as can an audio-visual sign.
Certification marks: These can now be registered.
Goods and services combined: Goods and services can now be included in the same trade mark application.
Divisional applications: It will be possible to divide a trade mark application according to goods or services at any stage before registration.
Examination: There will be substantive examination on absolute grounds.
Publication: An application will be published after filing.
Opposition: The opposition period will be three months from the publication date.
Claim of Ownership: A prior user of a mark who feels that the trade mark applicant knew or should have known of its prior rights, will be entitled to file a ‘claim of ownership’ objection within three months of the publication date of the application. Where the decision is in favour of the claimant, OAPI will assign the trade mark application to the claimant.
International Registrations: There have long been doubts about the validity of International Registrations designating OAPI due to the failure to incorporate the Madrid Protocol into the Bangui Agreement. There is now specific reference in the Bangui Agreement to International Registrations – whether or not this resolves the issue of validity remains to be seen, as there is a strong body of opinion that International Registrations cannot be effective in OAPI until such time as all the member countries ratify OAPI’s accession to the Madrid Protocol.
Cancellation of generic marks: It will be possible to cancel the registration of a trade mark that has, as a result of the actions of the owner of the registration, become generic.
Prescription for infringement: The prescription term for civil actions for infringement will be five years from the date of the infringement.
Customs Watch: The customs authorities will be able to detain suspected counterfeit goods on the written request of the owner or exclusive beneficiary of a trade mark registration. The trade mark owner will have a period of 10 days (three days in the case of perishable goods) from notification of the detention of the goods to launch civil or criminal proceedings.

Geographical Indications (GIs)
Extension: Protection will be extended to agricultural, natural and artisanal products.

Industrial Designs
Publication / opposition: There will be publication of applications for opposition purposes. The opposition period will be three months.

*OAPI is the single IP registration system that applies in the countries set out below. The system is governed by the Bangui Agreement:
Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Togo and the Union of the Comoros.

contact us for further information