埃塞俄比亚有两个重要的知识产权法院判决,最近已经过审查。埃塞俄比亚知识产权法院的判决似乎非常罕见。

令人困惑的相似商标 – Hybrid Designs PLC v SeregelaRide Taxi Services PLC,联邦高等法院,2021 年 10 月

出租车供应商 Hybrid Designs 使用注册商标 Ride 商标。当竞争对手开始以 Seregela Ride 商标提供类似服务时,Hybrid Designs 因商标侵权而被起诉。 Hybrid 声称存在混淆的可能性,并要求禁令和损害赔偿。

Seregela 在第 39 类和第 42 类中注册了 Seregela 名称的商标,但该注册没有“'骑'. Seregela 声称“' 是通用的,任何一方都不应该拥有它的专有权。有人认为,Ride 和 Seregela Ride 的标记并不相似。有人争辩说,Hybrid Designs 的商标注册仅限于第 42 类的软件服务,因此不扩展到第 39 类的运输服务。

法院裁定 Hybrid Designs 胜诉,称 Ride 一词与 Seregela 名称一起使用侵犯了 Ride 商标的权利。它发布了一项禁令,要求 Seregela 停止使用 Ride 这个词作为其商标的一部分。法院指出没有证明实际损害,因此没有下令支付损害赔偿。

互惠——艾哈迈德·阿卜杜拉赫曼和伊利的洗涤剂工业公司,联邦最高法院,2021 年 8 月 5 日

这是该国最高法院联邦最高法院上诉庭的判决。

该案涉及一家索马里公司针对一家埃塞俄比亚公司提出的三项商标申请提出异议。这家埃塞俄比亚公司辩称,反对意见无效,因为埃塞俄比亚与索马里没有互惠协议。

法院认为,异议已被有效提出,缺乏互惠协议不是决定性的。它提出了以下几点:

  • 互惠原则不一定与国际协议挂钩——它是给予外国公民权利以换取这些国家给予埃塞俄比亚人同样的权利。
  • 尽管没有互惠协议,但埃塞俄比亚自 1986 年以来一直以允许商标申请和异议的形式给予索马里互惠。埃塞俄比亚已经注册了大约 11,000 个属于外国人的商标。
  • 给予互惠对于增加外国直接投资和避免因寻求国外保护而遭到报复很重要。
  • 如果外国人有权申请商标,则必须遵循他们也有权反对他人的商标以捍卫自己的权利。

希望更多埃塞俄比亚知识产权法院的判决能够公开——实际上是来自整个非洲大陆的知识产权判决。

联系我们 了解更多信息。

There are two important IP court judgments in Ethiopia, which have been recently reviewed. Ethiopian IP court judgments seem to be very rare.

Confusingly similar trade marks – Hybrid Designs PLC v SeregelaRide Taxi Services PLC, Federal High Court, October 2021

Hybrid Designs, a taxi provider, uses the trade mark Ride which is a registered trade mark. When a competitor started offering a similar service under the trade mark Seregela Ride, Hybrid Designs has been sued for trade mark infringement. Hybrid alleged a likelihood of confusion and requested an injunction and damages.

Seregela has a trade mark registration in classes 39 and 42 for the name Seregela, but this registration does not feature the word ‘ride’. Seregela claimed that the word ‘ride’ is generic, and that no one party should have exclusive rights to it. It was argued that the marks Ride and Seregela Ride are not confusingly similar. It was argued that Hybrid Designs’ trade mark registration is limited to software services in class 42, and therefore does not extend to transport services in class 39.

The court found in favour of Hybrid Designs, saying that the use of the word Ride in conjunction with the name Seregela infringes the rights in the trade mark Ride. It issued an injunction requiring Seregela to desist from using the word Ride as part of its trade mark. The court made a point that no actual damage has been proved so it did not order payment of damages.

Reciprocity – Ahmed Abdurahman and Ely’s Detergent Industry Company, Federal Supreme Court, 5 August 2021

This was a judgment of the country’s highest court, the Federal Supreme Court Cassation bench.

The case involved an opposition that a Somalian company had filed against three trade mark applications that had been lodged by an Ethiopian company. The Ethiopian company argued that the opposition was invalid because Ethiopia does not have a reciprocity agreement with Somalia.

The court held that the opposition had been validly filed and that the lack of a reciprocity agreement was not determinative. It made the following points:

  • The principle of reciprocity is not something that is necessarily linked to international agreements – it is, rather, the granting of rights to citizens of foreign countries in exchange for those countries granting the same rights to Ethiopians.
  • Even though there is no reciprocity agreement, Ethiopia has been granting reciprocity to Somalia – in the form of allowing trade mark filings and oppositions – since 1986. Ethiopia has registered some 11,000 trade marks belonging to foreigners.
  • The granting of reciprocity is important to increase foreign direct investment and avoid reprisals for seeking protection abroad.
  • If foreigners have the right to file trade marks it must follow that they also have the right to oppose the trade marks of others in order to defend their rights.

Hopefully more Ethiopian IP court judgments will become publicly available – indeed IP judgments from across the African continent.

Contact us for further information.