2008 年第 13 号反假冒法

肯尼亚有专门的反假冒立法,即 2008 年第 13 号反假冒法,以及专门的反假冒机构,反假冒管理局(ACA)。一段时间以来,对于在肯尼亚销售商品的知识产权所有者是否需要在 ACA 单独注册其商标,一直存在混淆。

肯尼亚的双重登记制度

肯尼亚引入了所谓的“双重登记”制度。这意味着向肯尼亚进口商品的知识产权所有者将被要求在 ACA 单独注册其知识产权——值得注意的是,尽管肯尼亚当局使用知识产权 (IPR) 一词,但假设是这主要是关于商标的。未在 ACA 注册将构成犯罪。

ACA Recordal 注册流程现在在这里。而且相当繁重——需要相当多的细节,包括权利人、商品制造国以及外国用户和分销商的身份。需要提供商品样品或数码照片,以及肯尼亚知识产权注册证书的核证副本。

一切就绪后,ACA 检查员将拥有与海关官员相同的权力来处理进口假冒商品。似乎的想法是,ACA 备案过程将导致更多的假冒商品在入境口岸被查获。

最近的发展

在题为 2022 年 4 月 26 日*开始知识产权登记的通知中,ACA 宣布:

  • 自2022年7月1日起实施知识产权备案。
  • 从该日期起,进口带有尚未记录的知识产权的商品将构成犯罪——此类商品将被扣押并起诉进口商。

与打假部门商讨

我们发起这些讨论是因为我们觉得有很多不确定性。 ACA现在告诉我们以下内容:

  • 2022 年 7 月 1 日的生效日期已延长至 2023 年 1 月 1 日**。这将大大减轻知识产权所有者的压力,因为这将使他们有时间去做需要做的事情。 2023 年 1 月之前获得的注册实际上只会从 2023 年 1 月开始运行。
  • 就 ACA 而言,ACA 备案基本上都是关于商标的,而不是其他知识产权——ACA 很清楚它无法处理专利备案这一事实。令人困惑的是,ACA 确实继续说可以包括其他知识产权(注册外观设计似乎最有可能)。
  • 备案应仅限于公司最重要的商标。 ACA 表示,它将无法处理大公司的全部商标注册组合的记录。如果一家公司有多个注册,ACA 的建议是它应该选择最适合的一个。我们可以想象,这通常可能是“房屋标志”。
  • 备案将不限于肯尼亚的知识产权,其他国家的商标注册可以构成 ACA 备案的基础。我们的建议是获得肯尼亚注册,特别是如果商标被用于进口到该国的商品上。
  • 也许最值得注意的是,当局不太可能以没有 ACA 备案为由扣押任何商品——他们说,在早期阶段,他们的主要目标只是收集统计数据和鼓励品牌所有者拥有登记备案,为系统的下一阶段做准备。这显然与 ACA 记录是强制性的概念不一致。

ACA 备案流程

这肯定不像人们希望的那样清楚。但我们理解的过程如下:

  • 在肯尼亚开展业务的商标所有人应在 ACA 记录其最重要的肯尼亚(或实际上是外国)商标注册。
  • 申请获得批准后,ACA 将以防伪安全装置的形式颁发认证标志。这将在稍后实施。
  • ACA 可以销毁任何不带有该设备的货物。
  • 备案的有效期为自备案批准之日起一年或知识产权注册的剩余期限,以较短者为准——续展申请必须在到期前至少 30 天提交。
  • 如果商标注册被转让或所有权变更,则必须将这些变更通知 ACA。
  • 原材料/半成品无需备案。
  • 服务标志无需备案。

在肯尼亚销售商品的商标所有人

2022 年 4 月 26 日的通知,连同上述说明,显然非常重要。在肯尼亚销售商品的商标所有人将在未来每年向 ACA 注册其权利。我们能够协助我们的客户注册这些权利。

确实出现的一个问题是,ACA 是否会利用这项立法来扣押进入肯尼亚的真品。我们与肯尼亚官员的讨论表明情况并非如此,整个目的是防止假冒商品进入该国。然而,通知中没有任何内容表明这一点。

如果您需要任何进一步的信息,请随时联系您常用的 Spoor & Fisher 联系人。

*公告第 1/2022 号打假局。
**公告第2/2022号打假局

保护、管理和 在非洲执行知识产权.

联系我们 了解更多信息。

Anti-Counterfeiting Act No. 13 of 2008

Kenya has specific anti-counterfeiting legislation, the Anti-Counterfeiting Act No. 13 of 2008, as well as a dedicated anti-counterfeiting body, the Anti-Counterfeiting Authority (ACA). There has for some time been confusion as to whether IP owners who sell goods in Kenya are required to register their trade marks separately with the ACA.

Kenya’s dual registration system

Kenya has introduced what has been dubbed a ‘dual registration’ system. What this means is that an IP owner who imports goods into Kenya will be required to register its IP rights separately with the ACA – it is worth noting that, although the Kenyan authorities use the term intellectual property rights (IPRs), the assumption has been that this was primarily about trade marks. Failure to register with the ACA will be an offence.

The ACA Recordal registration process is now here. And it is quite onerous – considerable detail is required regarding the rights owner, the country where the goods are manufactured, and the identities of foreign users and distributors. Samples or digital photos of goods will be required, as well as a certified copy of a Kenyan IP registration certificate.

When everything is up and running ACA inspectors will have the same powers as customs officers in respect of imported counterfeit goods. The thinking seemingly is that the ACA recordal process will result in more counterfeit goods being seized at ports of entry.

A recent development

In a notification headed Commencement of Recordation of Intellectual Property Rights, 26 April 2022*, the ACA announced that:

  • The commencement of the implementation of recordation of IP rights would take effect on 1 July 2022.
  • As of that date it would be an offence to import goods bearing IP that has not been recorded – such goods will be seized and importers prosecuted.

Discussions with the Anti-Counterfeiting Authority

We initiated these discussions because we felt that there were many uncertainties. We have now been told the following by the ACA:

  • The commencement date, 1 July 2022, has been extended to 1 January 2023**. This will be a major relief to IP owners, as it will give them some time to do what needs to be done. Registrations obtained before January 2023 will in fact only run from January 2023.
  • As far as the ACA is concerned, the ACA recordal is basically all about trade marks, not other IP rights – the ACA is quite clear about the fact that it would be unable to deal with patent recordals. Confusingly, the ACA does go on to say that other IP rights can be included (registered designs would seem the most likely).
  • Recordal should be limited to the company’s most important trade marks. The ACA says that it would be unable to cope with recordal of a major company’s full portfolio of trade mark registrations. If a company has a number of registrations the ACA’s suggestion is that it should choose the one that it most apt. We would imagine that this might often be the ‘house mark’.
  • Recordal will not be limited to Kenyan IP rights, trade marks registrations in other countries can form the basis of an ACA recordal. Our recommendation is that Kenyan registrations be obtained, particularly if the trade marks are being used on goods imported into the country.
  • Perhaps most noteworthy is the comment that the authorities are unlikely to seize any goods on the basis that there has been no ACA recordal – they say that at the early stages their main goal is simply to compile statistics and data and encourage brand owners to have a registration on file in preparation for the next phase of the system. This certainly seems at odds with the notion that ACA recordal is mandatory.

The ACA recordal process

It is s certainly not as clear as one would like. But the process as we understand is as follows:

  • Trade mark owners who do business in Kenya should be recording their most important Kenyan (or indeed foreign) trade mark registrations with the ACA.
  • On approval of an application the ACA will issue a certification mark in the form of an anti-counterfeit security device. This will be implemented later.
  • The ACA can destroy any goods that do not bear the device.
  • Recordals last for a period of one year from the date of approval of recordation or the remaining period of the IP registration, whichever is the shorter – a renewal application must be filed at least 30 days before expiry.
  • Where trade mark registrations are assigned or change ownership, the ACA must be informed of those changes.
  • No recordal is necessary for raw materials/unfinished goods.
  • No recordal is required for service marks.

Trade mark owners who sell goods in Kenya

The notification of 26 April 2022, as read with the clarifications set out above, is clearly very significant. Trade mark owners who sell goods in Kenya will in future be registering their rights with the ACA on an annual basis. We are in a position to assist our clients with the registration of these rights.

A question that does arise is whether the ACA will use this legislation to seize genuine goods entering Kenya. Discussions that we have had with Kenyan officials suggest that this is not the case, and that the whole intention is to prevent counterfeit goods from entering the country. Yet there is nothing in the notification that makes this clear.

If you need any further information please feel free to contact your usual Spoor & Fisher contact.

*Public Notice No. 1/2022 Anti-Counterfeit Authority.
**Public Notice No. 2/2022 Anti-Counterfeit Authority

Protecting, managing and enforcing IP in Africa.

Contact us for further information.