Spoor & Fisher is proud to announce that we’ve been named the Best Lawyers international Law Firm of The Year 2020 for Intellectual Property, an accolade it has won twice this decade.

The respected “Law Firm of the Year” is determined based on various factors, including feedback from lawyers recognised by Best Lawyers on individual lawyer and firm-wide work; the size and coverage of the firm in a specific practice area; historical analysis of the firm’s “Lawyer of the Year” awards in this area; and research surrounding the firm’s overall scope and areas of expertise.

Partner, Hugh Moubray and former partner and now consultant Dr Owen Dean were also named as the “Lawyer of the Year” by The Best Lawyers in South Africa for 2020 in the area of Intellectual Property law.

In this, the 11th Edition of The Best Lawyers in South Africa, partners recognised for IP law include:

Eben van Wyk and Hugh Moubray also received recognition for litigation.

Recognition by the Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. Their methodology is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area.

Lodewyk Cilliers, Executive Chairman of the partnership, says, “We are truly honoured by the recognition which has been made possible by our talented team that is always invested in our clients’ success.”