Spoor and Fisher Team - Kay Rickelman

Kay Rickelman

Foreign Counsel,  Spoor & Fisher, Pretoria

Kay Rickelman is Spoor & Fisher’s foreign trade marks counsel. She has BS cum laude and Juris Doctor degrees from the University of Illinois. She is an Attorney of the State of Illinois, as well as Attorney of the Seventh Circuit, US Federal Court.

Kay has over three decades of experience in domestic and international trade mark registration, searches and clearance, and international trade mark litigation. She specialises in portfolio management and oversees trade mark matters in Africa and abroad, on behalf of international companies. Kay is an expert in obtaining and enforcing trade mark protection in foreign countries.

Industry Associations

  • Associate Member – South African Institute of Intellectual Property Law (SAIIPL)
  • Member – American Bar Association (ABA)
  • Member – American Chamber of Commerce (AMCHAM) 
  • Member – International Trademark Association (INTA) Law Firm Committee (2024/2025)
  • Committee member – INTA Leadership Development
  • Member – Legal Practice Council (LPC)

Market Recognition

  • Listed – WTR 1000, 2011-2021
  • Listed – Who’s Who Legal: Trademarks edition of the International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers 2010-2016
  • Listed in the Who’s Who Legal Trademark editions 2014 – 2021
  • Listed – Euromoney’s Expert Guides: Trademarks, 2016 – 2021
  • Listed – Euromoney’s Expert Guides: Women in Business Law, 2018-2021
  • Thought Leader – Who’s Who Legal, 2017
  • Ranked – Legal 500, 2017
  • Client Choice Award: Intellectual Property – Trademarks in South Africa, 2020

Professional Activities

  • Speaker at various conferences, including INTA Annual Meeting, INTA TMAP Conference, ABA Webinar, MIP IP Roadshow and FICPI, 2008-2017
  • Past member of the INTA Board of Directors and Strategic Planning Committee for INTA
  • Past chair of the INTA Bulletin Committee
  • Past member of the INTA Presidential Task Force for SMMEs
  • Past member of the University of Illinois Alumni Association Board of Directors and on their Audit Committee